Colours of a Hibiscus Shrub

The flower colors of a shrub in the Hibiscus genus depend on the species and variety. More than 200 species of hibiscus come in a variety of colours, including pink, orange and yellow. Some of the most common are Rose-of-Sharon (H. syriacus), red leaf hibiscus (H. acetosella) and confederate roses (H. mutabilis), as well as increased mallow (H. moscheutos) and also Chinese hibiscus (H. rosa-sinensis). Hibiscus shrubs add a tropical feel to your landscape and also attract butterflies and hummingbirds to your yard.


Rose-of-Sharon has many cultivars that grow in U.S. Department of Agriculture plant hardiness zones 5b through 9a. It grows 8 to 12 feet tall with grey-green leaves that turn bronze or gold in autumn. “Bluebird” bears mild blue flowers, “Collie Mullens” has dual blossoms in purple-lavender and “Pink Giant” offers pink flowers with a burgundy blotch in the center. “Diana” rises pure white flowers, “Helene” has white petals with a reddish-purple foundation and also “Red Heart” displays white flowers with red eyes.

Red Leaf Hibiscus

The red leaf hibiscus grows 5 feet tall in USDA zones 8 through 11. It bears attractive deep burgundy-red leaves and purple flowers. Red leaf hibiscus is commonly known as cranberry hibiscus or fictitious roselle along with other known cultivars include “Haight Ashbury,” with pink patches on leaves that are red.

Confederate Roses

Confederate roses bloom in shades from white to red with bright green leaves. “Blood to the Rose” emerges as a white flower and gradually turns pink and then red in 2 days or less. “Single Pink” has large pink flowers. It reaches 12 to 15 feet tall in warm climates and 6 to 8 feet tall in places that see icy temperatures. Confederate roses grow in USDA zones 8 through 10.

Rose Mallow

Rose mallow, also known as dinner plate hibiscus, have large flowers, 10 to 12 inches wide, that just live one day. There are lots of varieties of this 4-foot-tall plant. “White” bears cream flowers with red eyes, “Etna Pink” has flowers featuring white petals blushed with pink and burgundy eyes and “Lord Baltimore” offers flowers with scarlet red petals and contrasting yellow stamens. Rose mallows’ leaf colour is based upon the variety and they grow in USDA zones 4 through 9.

Chinese Hibiscus

Chinese hibiscus (H. rosa-sinensis), also referred to as tropical hibiscus, offers 8-inch-wide single or double blossoms in every color except blue, like apricot, orange and yellow. “Crown of Bohemia” includes double-blooming golden flowers with orange throats, “Fiesta” bears dark orange flowers with pinkish-red eyes and “Ruby Brown” grows brownish flowers tinted in orange with dark red throats. Chinese hibiscus has glossy, dark green leaves and grows 5 to 15 feet tall in USDA zones 9 through 11.

See related